e-TiM: The Virtual Sefirah Series

Primary tabs

A Summary of this Week’s Online Classes
Program Date(s): 
11:00 AM Friday Apr 17, 2020 to 12:00 PM Thursday May 28, 2020
Program Dates: 
Daily at 11:00 am and 8:30 pm Eastern time
Venue: 
Leaders & Speakers: 
Rabbi Jay Kelman,
Dr. Marc Shapiro,
Rabbi Dr. Martin Lockshin,
Rabbi Aviad Tabory,
Rabbi Menachem Leibtag,
Rabbi Lee Buckman,
Rabbi Hyim Shafner,
Rabbi Adam Mintz,
Rabbi David Wolkenfeld,
Rabbi Elli Fischer,
Dr. Yael Ziegler,
Rabbi Adam Starr,
Rabbi Doron Perez

Upcoming Shiurim: All times are Eastern

Tuesday, May 26  
11:00 am 
Yom Yerushalayim, Shavuot and Rav Kook’s Understanding of Jewish Unity 
Rabbi Doron Perez

Wednesday, May 27  
11:00am
Shavuot Through the Prism of Birchot HaTorah
Dr. Beni Gesundheit

8:30 pm
The Fourteen Commandments
Rabbi Jay Kelman
In partnership with the RIETS Virtual Erev Shavuot Yarchei Kallah
Click here to see flyer

Thursday, May 28
9:30am
Did the Jewish People Accept the Torah Willingly?
Rabbi Jay Kelman

To listen to shiurim you may have missed please click here.

While our online classes are offered for free your donation to support the learning is greatly appreciated. Please click here. Thank you. 

 

To listen to previous shiurim, click here.

Here's what you missed:

Monday, April 27  
11:00am 
The Biblical Roots of Sefirat Ha’omer & Their Meaning in a Post-Biblical Society 
The Biblical Meaning of the Number Seven: From Creation to Revelation 
Rabbi Menachem Leibtag

8:30 pm 
The Mir Yeshiva's Incredible Escape to Shanghai 
Part 2 
Dr. Marc Shapiro  

Tuesday, April 28  
11:00 am 
Understanding the Great Torah Commentators 
Rashi 
Rabbi Dr. Martin Lockshin

 

Wednesday, April 29  
12:00 pm 
Ordinary Israelis and Extraordinary History
a special program for Yom Ha'atzmaut
Rabbi Lee Buckman

 

Thursday, April 30  
11:00 am 
Halachic Responses to the State of Israel 
Tzahal and the Ethics of Warfare
Rabbi Aviad Tabory

8:30 pm 
Parshat HaShavua 
Acharei Mot-Kedoshim
Rabbi Hyim Shafner

Friday, May 1  
9:30 am 
Pirkei Avot 
Rabbi Jay Kelman  

Sunday, May 3  
11:00 am 
Books, People, Ideas: An Intellectual History of the Jews During the Second Temple
The Apocrypha: Judith and Susanna 
Rabbi Adam Mintz

Monday, May 4  
11:00am 
The Biblical Roots of Sefirat Ha’omer & Their Meaning in a Post-Biblical Society 
Shavuot: Are We Celebrating Weeks, Wheat, or Matan Torah?​ 
Rabbi Menachem Leibtag

8:30 pm 
The Mir Yeshiva's Incredible Escape to Shanghai 
Part 3 
Dr. Marc Shapiro

Tuesday, May 5 
11:00 am 
Understanding the Great Torah Commentators 
Rashbam
Rabbi Dr. Martin Lockshin

8:30 pm 
The Prophet, the Priest, and the Public: An Examination of the Balance of Powers in the Age of Prophecy
Part 1 of 2
Miriam Krupka

Wednesday, May 6
11:00 am 
Reading Rashbi: Understanding the Talmudic Story of Rabbi Shimon Bar Yochai 
Strangers in a Familiar Land
Rabbi Elli Fischer

Thursday, May 7 

11:00am
Halachic Responses to the State of Israel
How Can an Irreligious Government Be Legitimate?
Rabbi Aviad Tabory

8:30 pm 
Parshat HaShavua 
Rabbi David Wolkenfeld

Friday, May 8 
9:30 am 
Pirkei Avot 
Rabbi Jay Kelman

Sunday, May 10  
11:00am 
Books, People, Ideas: An Intellectual History of the Jews During the Second Temple
Josephus: The “Jewish” Historian
Rabbi Adam Mintz

8:30 pm 
Hasidic Prophets: An Introduction to the Spiritual Path of the Piacezner Rebbe
Part 1 of 2
Rabbi Dr. Jon Kelsen

Monday, May 11  
11:00am 
Understanding 'Standing at Sinai' 
Maamad Har Sinai in Parshat Yitro 
Rabbi Menachem Leibtag

8:30pm
The Mir Yeshiva's Incredible Escape to Shanghai 
Dr. Marc Shapiro

Tuesday, May 12  
11:00 am 
Understanding the Great Torah Commentators 
Ibn Ezra
Rabbi Dr. Martin Lockshin

Wednesday, May 13
11:00 am 
Reading Rashbi: Understanding the Talmudic Story of Rabbi Shimon Bar Yochai 
The Cave
Rabbi Elli Fischer

8:30 pm 
Hasidic Prophets: An Introduction to the Spiritual Path of the Piacezner Rebbe
Part 2 of 2
Rabbi Dr. Jon Kelsen

Thursday, May 14 

11:00am
Halachic Responses to the State of Israel
Executive, Legislative and Judicial Branches
Rabbi Aviad Tabory

8:30 pm 
Parshat HaShavua 
Rabbi Eitan Aviner

Friday, May 15 
9:30 am 
Pirkei Avot 
Rabbi Jay Kelman

Sunday, May 17  
11:00am 
Books, People, Ideas: An Intellectual History of the Jews During the Second Temple
Rabbi Akiva and Rabbi Eliezer Ben Hyrcanus: Forming the Rabbinic Tradition
Rabbi Adam Mintz

8:30 pm 
Hasidic Prophets: An Introduction to the Spiritual Path of the Piacezner Rebbe
Part 2 of 2
Rabbi Dr. Jon Kelsen

Monday, May 18  
11:00am 
Understanding 'Standing at Sinai' 
Maamad Har Sinai in Parshat Mishpatim 
Rabbi Menachem Leibtag

8:30pm
The Making of My Most Recent Book, A Thirty-Year Story 
Dr. Marc Shapiro

Tuesday, May 19  
11:00 am 
Understanding the Great Torah Commentators 
Ramban
Rabbi Dr. Martin Lockshin

Wednesday, May 20
11:00 am 
Reading Rashbi: Understanding the Talmudic Story of Rabbi Shimon Bar Yochai 
A Path Through the Graveyard
Rabbi Elli Fischer

Thursday, May 21  
9:30 am
Megillat Ruth: A Book of Chessed and Kingship
Dr. Yael Ziegler

11:00am
Halachic Responses to the State of Israel
Todays' topic: Keeping the lights on: Can a State be “Shomer Shabbat”?
Rabbi Aviad Tabory

8:30 pm 
Parshat HaShavua 
Rabbi Adam Starr

Friday, May 22 
9:30 am 
Pirkei Avot 
Rabbi Jay Kelman

Sunday, May 24
9:00am-9:00pm
12th International Conference on Jewish Medical Ethics
Please see schedule here 
Separate registration is required here
 

Monday, May 25  
11:00am 
Understanding 'Standing at Sinai' 
Maamad Har Sinai in Parshat Va'etchanan 
Rabbi Menachem Leibtag

8:30pm
The Making of My Most Recent Book, A Thirty-Year Story 
Dr. Marc Shapiro