e-TiM: Parshanut and Polemics

Primary tabs

Program Date(s): 
11:00 AM to 12:00 PM Wednesday Jan 6, 2021
11:00 AM to 12:00 PM Wednesday Jan 13, 2021
11:00 AM to 12:00 PM Wednesday Jan 20, 2021
11:00 AM to 12:00 PM Wednesday Jan 27, 2021
11:00 AM to 12:00 PM Wednesday Feb 3, 2021
11:00 AM to 12:00 PM Wednesday Feb 10, 2021
11:00 AM to 12:00 PM Wednesday Feb 17, 2021
11:00 AM to 12:00 PM Wednesday Feb 24, 2021
Program Dates: 
Wednesdays, 11:00 am Eastern
Leaders & Speakers: 
Rabbi Dr. Martin Lockshin

Jews and Christian share the same holy book—the Tanakh or “Old Testament.”  But they have been arguing about its correct interpretation ever since the rise of Christianity.  In this class we will examine how and when Jewish Bible commentaries argue against Christian teachings and readings of the biblical text.  We will begin our studies with a few passages in the Talmud and then move on to the great Jewish Bible commentators of later years, including Rashi, Rashbam, Ramban, Radak, Abarbanel and others.

This eight-part series will take place on Wednesdays, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm Eastern:

Part 1: Wednesday, January 6, 2021

Part 2: Wednesday, January 13, 2021

Part 3: Wednesday, January 20, 2021

Part 4: Wednesday, January 27, 2021

Part 5: Wednesday, February 3, 2021

Part 6: Wednesday, February 10, 2021

Part 7: Wednesday, February 17, 2021

Part 8: Wednesday, February 24, 2021