e-TiM: Introduction to Midrash

Primary tabs

Program Date(s): 
11:00 AM to 12:00 PM Tuesday Nov 3, 2020
11:00 AM to 12:00 PM Tuesday Nov 10, 2020
11:00 AM to 12:00 PM Tuesday Nov 17, 2020
11:00 AM to 12:00 PM Tuesday Nov 24, 2020
11:00 AM to 12:00 PM Tuesday Dec 1, 2020
11:00 AM to 12:00 PM Tuesday Dec 8, 2020
Program Dates: 
Tuesdays, 11:00 am Eastern
Leaders & Speakers: 
Simi Peters

Midrash is ubiquitous in Jewish scholarship, yet often misunderstood. In this course, we will study a range of midrashic sources to acquire basic skills in Midrash study and answer some of the important questions fundamental to the study of Midrash: What is Midrash? Why is it so central to our thinking? Why did the Rabbis write in midrashic style? How are we to relate to the factuality of ‘fantastical’ midrashim?

Her six-part series will take place on Tuesdays, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm Eastern:

Part 1: Tuesday, November 3

Part 2: Tuesday, November 10 

Part 3: Tuesday, November 17

Part 4: Tuesday, November 24

Part 5: Tuesday, December 1

Part 6: Tuesday, December 8